As one of the world's fastest growing telecom operators, we provide innovative telecom services and solutions, earning customer trust and enriching society.

Vietnam officially changed landline area code in 13 provinces

21-02-2017 | Vietnam Telecom
Starting from 00h00 on Feb 11th 2017, the landline area codes of 13 provinces, including Son La, Lai Chau, Lao Cai, Dien Bien, Yen Bai, Quang Binh, Quang Tri, Thua Thien-Hue, Quang Nam, Da Nang, Thanh Hoa, Nghe An, Ha Tinh are changed.

It is considered as one of the most highlighted progress in scientific and technological fields this year. The MIC (Ministry of Information and Communications) decided to divide area code change plan into 3 stages conducted in the 59/63 provinces and cities, except Vinh Phuc, Phu Tho, Hoa Binh and Ha Giang. At 0h00 Feb 11th 2017, all Vietnam telecommunication operators completed the shift of the code area at Stage 1 as the planning of MIC. The testing calls from mobile number to new fixed codes were implemented successfully.

Mr. Luu Manh Ha, Deputy General Director of Viettel Networks said that although this is only the first stage of the plan, Viettel has already converted nearly 72 million mobile subscribers and fixed subscribers, with all connection-oriented network including internal, external and international networking.

Viettel’s technical staff on duty in the transition of area code.

To implement this plan, Viettel has been preparing and deploying during the night with great efforts, from 80 highly experienced technical personnel to be gathered along with the staff over 63 branches and at the customer care center. With the App called “My Viettel”, the synchronization of contacts only occurred within 1-2 minutes and has helped our customers communicate more conveniently without being interrupted by the old and new area codes.

The second stage will begin on April 15/2017, with 23 provinces including Quang Ninh, Bac Giang, Lang Son, Cao Bang, Tuyen Quang, Thai Nguyen, Bac Kan, Hai Duong, Hung Yen, Bac Ninh, Hai Phong, Ha Nam, Thai Binh, Nam Dinh, Ninh Binh, Ca Mau, Bac Lieu, Can Tho, Hau Giang, Tra Vinh, An Giang, Kien Giang, Soc Trang.

Stage 3 is scheduled to begin on June 17/2017, with 23 provinces and cities including Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nai, Binh Thuan, Ba Ria-Vung Tau, Quang Ngai, Binh Dinh, Phu Yen, Khanh Hoa, Ninh Thuan, Kon Tum, Dak Nong, Dak Lak, Lam Dong, Gia Lai, Vinh Long, Binh Phuoc, Long An, Tien Giang, Binh Duong, Ben Tre, Tay Ninh, Dong Thap.

There are 4 provinces including Vinh Phuc, Phu Tho, Hoa Binh and Ha Giang whose codes would keep unchanged.